Send to friend | Print

Breakaway region Transdnestria bans US and EU diplomats

Transdnestria authorities have banned the entrance for three diplomats, ITAR-TASS reported. The Ambassador of the USA in Moldova Asif Chaudhry, the Special Representative of the EU for Moldova Kalman Mizsei, and the Ambassador of the Czech Republic in Moldova Petr Kypr, were banned in response to the extension of prohibiting Transdnestria's leaders to enter the EU and the USA.

Transdnestria is a breakaway region in the east of Moldova at the border with Ukraine. Its leaders doesn't acknowledge Moldova's rule and declare Transdnestria an independent state, however no country recognizes its independence. The negotiations on Transdnestria's status are being conducted with the participation of Moldova, Russia, Ukraine, Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE), and with the EU and the USA observing.

According to ITAR-TASS, the Transdnestria leader Igor Smirnov said, that "The remedy is addressed to the EU and USA representatives, who, however, being merely observers of the negotiation process, manipulate its sides, mostly Transdnestria." The manipulating contradicts a "spirit of establishing confidence ashore Dnestr river," Smirnov added. MOSNEWS


Comments (0)